The Best Scented Ornaments

27 Nov

We made the best smelling ornaments. They are made out of just applesauce and cinnamon and they are so darn cute! Here’s what you’ll need:

*1 cup applesauce

*1 cup cinnamon

*cookie cutters

*rolling pin

*cutting board

*pencil

*ribbon The first step is to dump the 1 cup applesauce and 1 cup cinnamon into a bowl and mix it.

After it gets lumpy, take it out and knead it on a cutting board (sprinkle cinnamon on board before to keep dough from sticking).

Then roll out the dough. I added a little flour to mine and kneaded it some more because it kept sticking to the rolling pin (and I was out of cinnamon, otherwise I would have used more of that!) 

Cut the shapes out. I cut out 9 shapes, but the number would vary depending on the shapes you use. Make sure to poke a hole (using a pencil) for the ribbon to go through. 

Then put them on a cookie sheet and in the oven at 150 degrees F for 3-5 hours (or you can air dry for several days). 

Add a ribbon and hang them on your tree! 

Isn’t this the most adorable little tree? I got this for the boys to keep in their room and it is a huge hit. I remember having a small tree in my room growing up, so I’m hoping to keep up with tradition. Make sure you try this easy craft out this Christmas season! You won’t be disappointed!

3 Responses to “The Best Scented Ornaments”

  1. Crystal November 27, 2012 at 9:11 #

    Following u from BBC, there is a link to a Giveaway from my Etsy Shop on my blog:
    http://brownsistacrista.blogspot.com/

  2. Susan November 28, 2012 at 9:11 #

    A friend of mine just recommended this same recipe recently – looking forward to making them.

    • teachingmamablog November 28, 2012 at 9:11 #

      Awesome!! Every time I go into the boys’ room I smell the wonderful aroma from the ornaments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

