Birthday Sensory Tub

5 Nov

With an upcoming birthday for Troy-boy, I decided to create a birthday sensory tub for the boys. Plus, I was kinda tired of our fall sensory tubs!

Here’s what’s included:

*colored rice  (see this blog for a tutorial)

*birthday blowers (is that what they are called??!)

*smarties (just for fun…their our favorite candy!)

*letter T and number 3

*3 fun candles

As you can tell by Wesley’s face, he loved those birthday blowers. He belly laughed so hard! And you can also see that it’s super messy! It might be from my 14 month old boy who has learned how to throw things and thought it was funny to throw the rice.

The funnel was fun for them to use to fill up the jar. How did those pumpkins get in there?? Oh well. Troy’s favorite thing to do with sensory tubs is to bury items and then try to find them or have me find them. Keeps him occupied for a while.

Today has been a trying day, to say the least! Both boys were up around 5:30 and cranky/energetic/wild/needy all morning long! I think we played with every toy we own before 8:00. Oh well! I am definitely thankful nap time came early today…mama needed a break! Oh and speaking of breaks, I’ll be taking a blogging hiatus for the rest of the week. For my part-time job, I have a conference this week that I’ve planned, so I will be plenty busy with that. Thanks for reading along!

6 Responses to “Birthday Sensory Tub”

  1. Susan November 5, 2012 at 9:11 #

    Too funny – we have seriously had the same type of day. Must be the time change. Love your blog!

    • teachingmamablog November 5, 2012 at 9:11 #

      Oh man, it’s exhausting, isn’t it?!! I’m glad I’m not alone 🙂 Will pray your kiddos will be extra good for you!! Thanks for your sweet comment, Susan!

  2. Kathryn Thayer November 6, 2012 at 9:11 #

    What a great way to build birthday anticipation, Angela!

  3. Casey November 16, 2012 at 9:11 #

    I love the birthday tub idea! I’ll have to remember that one. Thanks for the link love!

    • teachingmamablog November 16, 2012 at 9:11 #

      Thanks!! My kids really enjoyed it so I hope you’ll try it out. Thanks again for your comment!

Leave a Reply

